Hello Spring

PHOTOSHOOT IN CELEBRATION OF SPRING

The weather in Vermont has been pretty bipolar: it snowed just two weeks ago. Snow in April!? What even? It certainly came as a surprise. Then a week later, suddenly it rose to 22 C degrees. I was so happy to finally spend more time outside, reading magazines while laying out on the sun to tan. Even though it was super confusing, (was wearing my winter coat a week ago and suddenly I’m out in a bikini, tanning?) I was immensely happy to feel the warmth of the sun on my skin. April isn’t particularly the month for tanning, but I feel that it’s never too early to start getting than summer glow, am I right ladies? 😉

To celebrate the finally warmer weather, a wonderful friend of mine and I decided to go on an adventure not too far from our college campus, and take some photographs. I always get excited when a friend asks me if I want to model for her photos. And since my friend, Hadil, is a sensational photographer, I was twice as enlivened by this shoot.

To be honest, the weather was not as quite good as we thought it would be! We went out early morning, around 9am, and it did not feel as warm just yet. I was wearing a crop top and the chilly wind was inconvenient; I felt fairly cold, which in turn made me stiff and hence my body language exhibited less confidence. The camera did not like that. Cameras like radiance and poise!

I felt that I needed to open up my torso, free my arms from the sides of my body and loosen up my overall posture. I decided to walk around a little and warm my body up. Looking at the final photos now, I am happy to see that they turned out great, despite the frigid weather.

What is the lesson to take away from this experience? I learned that even though the weather was holding me back from being completely loose, a photographer who made me feel immensely confident and collected, was a huge plus. A quick warm up can better any situation because a freer, loose body means a clearer, open mind. In my acting classes we would always warm up at the beginning of each class, and I would experience the most exciting hour of class because I was entirely free in body, which made my more confident in my acting. I am now taking this knowledge and applying it to my everyday life, where posing for a camera needs just as much confidence as acting for an audience. The camera is my audience and my body is willing to work with me as long I let it be free and unshackled.

At the end of the day, an event is what you make of it. I had a lot of fun with Hadil and we laughed a lot and explored some cool areas of Bennington. The weather couldn’t hold us back because as long as we were keeping a positive and grateful mind for what was instead of what wasn’t, we were unstoppable.

Here are some of the photos from the photoshoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out more of Hadil’s work here. She is a bright, brilliant friend, one can wish to always have in life!

Stay sassy ❤

Leave a Reply

